Join now - be part of our community!

Isn't The Battery Meant To Last Longer?!?!?!?

dokmh
Visitor

Isn't The Battery Meant To Last Longer?!?!?!?

Been using my VAIO since I got in from work exactly 33 minutes ago...
The battery has gone down from 100% to 64%, I understand that using WLAN uses more battery (or so I've been informed anyway) but isn't my battery meant to last longer?
It's telling me I only have 1 hour 22 minutes left.

If this is normal please excuse my rant, I'm new to the world of laptops, just got this one yesterday!

5 REPLIES 5
profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

Hi dokmh and welcome to Club Vaio.

Your AR61M is more of a desktop computer replacement than a mobile laptop - so don't expect miracles from the battery. If you look at the specifications for your model here: -

http://vaio.sony.co.uk/view/ShowProduct.action?product=VGN-AR61M&site=voe_en_GB_cons&category=VN+AR+...

you will see the average battery life is given as 95 minutes and quote: -

"Actual battery life will vary depending on your specific hardware and software configurations. Benchmark: MobileMark 2007"

Are you using the original Operting System - Vista Home Premium? Have you got the power settings to "VAIO Optimised"?

Enjoy your Vaio!

:thinking:

dokmh
Visitor

90 minutes?
I guess I can live with that.
Didn't realise that it would only last that long though, guess I should have done a bit more reasearch into it before I bought it.
I don't mind anyway, I think it's an amazing machine... Anything is better than the desktop I've been slogging away on for the past 6 years - 755Mhz processor and about 512Mb RAM - this is the bee's knees compared to that!

profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

Yes, it's a great machine but that super screen and other powerful components do drain the poor battery quickly .

I would keep it connected to the mains adapter when watching Blu-Ray Films though!!

:wink:

profile.country.GB.title
jumpsuit
Expert

90 minutes? Luxury lol